Paul’s Perfect Scones

My sister makes the most amazing biscuits.  They are buttery and fluffy and taste amazing.  You could easily eat three and still want more.  I’m not entirely sure of the difference between a biscuit and a scone, something else lost in translation.  I think it may have something to do with the sugar content.  But I was hopeful that good biscuit/scone baking runs in the family!

This time I was focused,  I was thorough, I was, dare I say, technical.  I had rewatched the first technical and a few video’s of Paul teaching how to make his scones before starting Bake number 2 so I was prepared and ready to go.  And I think it went pretty well.

I measured everything in the morning, making sure to check off my steps as I went. This may seem neurotic but after the sugar-jam near miss, I wasn’t going to take any chances.  Here are some pictures of my preparations. Pregame

With my prep complete I was ready to bake!  So obviously I went outside to read and tan for a few hours.  Oops!  I guess that’s what Sundays are for.  Ok, cut to several hours and 1 sunburn later, time to bake!

I was thrown off by the recipe’s call for softened butter since everything I had read and heard has taught me that pastry needs cold butter but, Paul knows best.  Although secretly my butter was still pretty cold.  I always panic at the beginning of recipes that things don’t look right and how will it ever come together but sure enough most times I just have to be patient (not one of my virtues).  I crumbled (literally and figuratively) for a few minutes and got this…..

Breadcrumbs

looks bread crumb-y to me!  Next step, dump everything else into the “bread crumbs” with half of the milk. Easy enough. I mixed in the remaining milk and dumped it out. Now things get weird. Maybe I am mixing up my pastries but I thought you weren’t supposed to “over werk” pastry dough.  But Paul boldly instructs me to fold the dough onto itself, which feels an awful lot like kneading.  Then he has the nerve to tell me not to overwork the dough. This is where professional training would be really handy.  Finding the balance between working and overworking does not seem like something a novice will ever just know. But maybe this is the magical biscuit gene that my sister possesses.

Satisfied that my dough was appropriately worked it was time to cut out my scones.  After the Victoria Sponge pan size debacle, it was time to get technical.  I brought in the big guns, the measuring tape!  I was not going to over bake theses scones because they were too thin if Paul wants 1-inch dough that’s what he’s getting.

measure

I cut out my scones and let them rest for a few minutes while I mixed up my egg wash.  Since I had just watched the scone technical again I remembered that Paul is very insistent that the egg wash doesn’t drip down the sides since it will cook and prevent the scone from rising evenly.  Please note how the egg wash does not leave the top of the scone.

eggwash

Washed and rested the scones went into the oven.  Thankfully this recipe stated the oven temperature in Fahrenheit so there was no need for me to attempt math (or, let’s be honest, Google).  This time I did the patented bakeoff crouch infront of the oven while the scones baked and I think it paid off.  I took them out after 14 minutes and they looked perfectly golden! And since it was a beautiful sunny day and love looking at beautiful pictures of baking I took my scones outside for a photo shoot while they cooled.

20170528_153500-COLLAGE.jpg

What do you think?  I think it went really well.  They tasted pretty good, I may have the palate of a candy lover but I think they could have done with a bit more sugar in the mixture. That being said they were PERFECT with jam. I think a few things contributed to this Bake going well, first off it was one single recipe, no jam and buttercream along with a cake, secondly, I had all day to make them so I wasn’t rushing, and lastly, I was less nervous. After not getting the best result from my Victoria Sponge I had learned things might not go perfectly but it will probably still be ok.  So all in all…

20170528_145934

Just a heads up if you google the difference between a scone and a biscuit you will find this pretty great explanation.

6 thoughts on “Paul’s Perfect Scones

  1. Yummy! My recipe uses frozen butter that you grate in so I’m surprised too at the room temp butter direction. Sounds like Paul does know best though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

